What A Day!

It has been a weird — sometimes fun sometimes not — day.  But let’s begin with yesterday.  Yesterday, after classes, I decided to go to Target because I needed some new workout clothes.  So I took the Expo Line because it’s a straight shot.  I got there just fine, but when I went to take the Expo Line back, I realized that my TAP card didn’t have quite enough fare.  Now normally I wouldn’t hesitate to go and put more money on the card, but it was raining and the train was coming and I didn’t really want to wait fifteen minutes for the next one.  So of course today would be the day that there were transit police standing at the exit of my stop waiting to catch people who didn’t pay their fare.  Needless to say, I have to pay a $75 fine.  That isn’t so bad but I’m just so angry with myself.  I should have known better.  Kids, don’t break the law.

Anyway, the rest of my day was fine.  I had my weekly walk with my mom who found the whole thing very funny and then I went back to my dorm and relaxed.

I woke up, like I have been the last few days, about 30 minutes before my alarm and went to exercise.  I’m so glad I’m keeping my schedule!  It feels so good.  I did the incline walking workout which was great and I think I’m getting a little stronger.  Slowly but surely.  Then I came back and found out that one of my suitemates had puked in the bathroom (not into the toilet unfortunately) and then passed out in her bed.  So I missed my first class of the day cleaning that up (not fun.  I have never appreciated my mother more than while I was cleaning up puke.  Yuck!).

Unlike most Fridays, my Japanese class met today because we had Guest Day.  Basically, some of the other Japanese professors and some Japanese students studying at USC came to our class and we got to hold conversations with them.  I had a really good time and it was nice to put my limited Japanese to use (even if it was a little nerve wracking).

After that I was able to relax for a little while and I got some more knitting done.  I’ve completed 8 CC stripes so I am officially halfway through with Different Lines.  I still love the yarn and the pattern.  I never really realized how elegant garter stitch could look.

IMG_0766

 

Okay, ignore the terrible lighting and the fact that the backdrop is the carpet in my dorm.  I’m not a good photographer.  Probably why I’m an Art History major and not a Fine Arts major.

Speaking of Art History, I finished Nothing If Not Critical!  I love Robert Hughes.  I love this book.  I agree with pretty much everything he writes.  It was great.

With the finishing of the Robert Hughes, I have begun my “One Book from Every Country” undertaking. I am beginning with Algeria and have just started Unfinished Business by Boualem Sansal.  So far it’s keeping my interest.  We shall see though since I’ve only just started.

And now on to the reason that I was buying new workout clothes at Target.  I have decided to join some clubs at school.  Some athletic clubs.  Since I’m not big on team sports I have decided to join the Wushu club and the Capoeira club.  And today I went to my first Wushu club practice.  At the moment, because it’s so close to the end of the semester, most people were already proficient at Wushu and were getting ready for competition.  However, they were super nice and kindly helped me during the warmup and with the basics.  I now know what I will be working on over Winter Break.  I really have to improve my flexibility, my strength, and I’ll work on the basic kicks of Wushu.  Also, I need to learn how to do a cartwheel.  It’s a lot but I’m really excited.  I had a lot of fun at this practice even though (or possibly because) it completely wiped me out.  I’m going to be so sore tomorrow.  Yoga will feel pretty damn good  right then.

As you can see, I’ve had a pretty busy day.  きょうはとてもいそがしかたです。 Yay for Japanese!

Bye!

Leave a Reply

