It Is Too Late For Me To Think Up A Title

So the last week of this semester’s classes is going pretty slowly.  Monday I got together with my group from Japanese class and we did a final rehearsal of the skit.  We performed the skit today and it went pretty well considering none of us are actors and we were performing a skit written entirely in Japanese.  Still, I’m glad it’s over.

Because I had work today for six hours, I got a lot of knitting done.  My work in the library mainly consists of sitting behind the circulation desk doing nothing.  Now, I probably could have done something for a class (like writing my final essay for my writing class), but I chose to knit instead.  I think it was a good choice.  Anyhow, I’ve gotten up to knitting the 13th CC stripe.  Only one and 2/3 stripes left to go and then the solid color section.  I just found out that Season 7 of How I Met Your Mother is now on Netflix so I will be watching a lot of that and getting a ton of knitting done.

This evening my dad and I went to a Green Umbrella concert at Disney Hall.  This concert was celebrating the 100th birthday of Polish composer Lutoslawski who’s birthday will be in January of 2013.  Now, I have to be honest with you, neither my dad nor I knew who Lutoslawski was.  But apparently he is a rather famous composer.  There were two Lutoslawski pieces plus one by Stucky and one by Esa-Pekka Salonen.  My favorite piece of the program was probably Salonen’s string quartet, Homunculus.  Closely following that is Lutoslawski’s Chantefleurs et Chantefables which is a 9 part vocal and orchestral piece.  Laura Claycomb, the soprano, was absolutely wonderful.  She had a beautifully clear voice and her facial expressions perfectly matched the playfulness of the composition. All in all it was a great concert and a nice way to spend time with my dad.

I think I’m going to go to sleep now.  Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

