Feeling Good

I finished Different Lines!!!  Actually I finished it on the 11th, but I just never got around to blogging about it.  I really loved this pattern and this yarn (as I’m sure I mentioned before) and I love the finished product.  Here are some pictures:

IMG_0782

 

Yes, this was taken in my bathroom with my iPhone.  Don’t judge me.  There was no one around at the moment that I could ask to photograph this and I was really excited.

IMG_0786

 

Here it is lying in all its glory on the floor of my dorm.  It hasn’t been washed or blocked yet because I’m waiting until I go home after finals to do all that.

The only modification that I made was that I picked up the wrapped stitches.  I know that Veera said not to, but I like the look of the stitches picked up rather than left as they are.  Other than that, it is exactly as written.  Here is the link to my Ravelry page.

Of course, as soon as I finished Different Lines, I had to start Stripe Study.  This is the one that I’m knitting in Forestry and Wilted Rose, so it will be a little quieter and a little less in your face with the color choices.

I cannot tell you how much I love this pattern.  It is incomprehensible to me that I can start at the top of the shawl (which is the widest part) and yet still be increasing to make the shape.  I mean, how cool is that!  I know I could not have figured that out, so I’m very happy that Veera and any other shawl designers did.

Also, I really like this yarn.  I know I said that before when I was just starting Different Lines, but I felt the need to repeat it.  Especially because I cannot get over how amazing the Wilted Rose colour-way is.  It’s mostly dark reds and browns, but every so often there’s a small shock of pink that makes me so happy.  Pink is not even close to my favorite color but I like those small little accents.

IMG_0785

I’ve been working on Stripe Study for about two days and I am already on the 7th CC stripe out of 12.  I really like the combination of these two yarns although Forestry is really more of an emerald green than a turquoise blue.  Blame my camera.

Yes, my stitch markers are rubber bands.  I was in a fix because I didn’t bring any stitch markers with me to college (and anyway I always lose them) so I just used what I had on hand while I was at the library.  Never fear, however, since I ordered some new stitch markers from KnitPicks.  And some other stuff too.

Since I’m getting through Stripe Study, I felt it was time to think about the next projects that I would work on from my queue.  While on the KnitPicks website I picked out some turquoise and black yarn to make the Endpaper Mitts.  I have been wanting to knit these for ages because I love fingerless gloves and colour work.  Then I got some  yarn to knit up the Snicket Socks because I loved reading the Series of Unfortunate Events when I was a kid and you can get me to knit pretty much anything based on the series or the movie.  And finally, I got some yarn to knit the Arch-Shaped Socks.  And I got the necessary needles for all three as well!  I feel accomplished.  Plus, this way I should have some more challenging knitting to do over Winter Break when I have more time to concentrate on that sort of thing.  Anyhow, I’m super excited.

Part of the reason I’ve been getting so much knitting done the past few days is that I’ve been working more hours at the library.  I’ve also been watching a lot more movies and TV shows on Netflix.

I watched Hour of the Wolf, directed by Ingmar Bergman, which I loved but which freaked me out enough that I had trouble sleeping at night.  (Note to self: don’t watch Bergman films in the evening when it’s dark).  That set me off watching foreign films and I watched Requiem which is a German film about a young woman with epilepsy whose family decides to perform an ill-fated exorcism on.  It’s not a horror film and it’s really interesting.  Then I watched a thoroughly enjoyable film with Toni Collette in it (I love her) called Jesus Henry Christ.  Go watch it now if you haven’t.  It’s really enjoyable.  And now, I just started the television show Wilfred which I like (mostly because I have a soft spot for Elijah Wood).  All that ads up to a lot of knitting.

Which I will now happily get back too!

Leave a Reply

