Ode to Breakfast

So far my Winter Break has been going quite well.  Last night I spent the evening with friends at the Santa Monica pier.  We rode the Ferris Wheel since one of my friends has never ridden one (gasp!).  It was a bit chilly to be on the beach, but the company was good and there were lots of adorable dogs around to pet.

Today was for the most part quite relaxing.  I woke up later than usual at 8:30, just in time to see a friend off to the airport to return to their hometown.  Then I went out on a nice 30 minute walk/run.

I started running earlier this semester and have found that I quite enjoy it.  Since I’m nowhere near able to run a full 30 minutes without stopping so I found a beginners running plan and have been following that.  I try to run early in the morning when it’s still a bit chilly outside and there aren’t too many slow-walking people to have to dodge on the sidewalk.

After taking a shower and making myself pretty (haha) I went out with two of my roommates plus one of our friends down the hall to Grinder which is a breakfast place on Figueroa.  We’d seen it but never been inside and we decided to finally try it.  Inside it looks like your average American diner.  The menu boasted all sorts of tasty breakfast foods that I wanted to try.  Those who know me know that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and that I think that breakfast food is the best type of food.  I ordered eggs benedict and I was quite happy with my choice.  Very tasty.  I also tried one of my friend’s French Toast and it was quite possibly the best french toast I have ever eaten.  If you’re in the USC area you ought to try it.

Upon returning home I found out that my key card that allows me to do basically everything necessary at USC has somehow lost it’s magnetic-ness and will not work.  I’ve applied for a replacement and I’m hoping it comes soon.  Still, it’s such a bother.

After watching Leverage (I’m on the last season!) and knitting for a while, I had to go to work for three hours.  Today was my work in Special Collections.  I’m working with 3 other students and some supervisors on cataloguing and organizing the archives of Edward H. Fickett, a Los Angeles based architect who died in 1999.  The work is mostly boring, but it does provide me with money.  Unfortunately, I developed a headache and just about collapsed when I got home.

After eating some Ramen (we haven’t gone shopping in a while since everyone will be gone over break), I settled in again with Leverage and my knitting.  

Speaking of knitting, Razor Cami is coming along well.  I’ve started into the patterned portion and have gotten over 10 inches done.  It’s quite an easy and quick knit.  Additionally, I think as a Southern California girl I’m one of the few people who absolutely loves knitting with cotton.  I don’t find it hard on my hands and I think it’s so soft and light.  I can’t wait to finish this Cami so I can wear it when the weather gets warmer.  

Looking forward to tomorrow when I head home and help my dad pick out a Christmas tree.  Only 2 more days until the rest of my family arrives.  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

